There are a lot of links in this post…

…and I think you should check out all of them!

Well, duh, that’s why I included them. But you are warned. Or informed! And delighted, as I can only imagine. Not that there are many people reading this blog, so far as I know (Hi, twoleftboots) but maybe…

I’m not about to turn this into a cooking blog because this pretty much has everything I ever want in a food blog. I love love love love love her. And I love to cook (and to eat). And my boyfriend/roommate is obligingly patient as I spend three to five hours or more every now and again on nightly forays into cooking adventures. Ah, the many simple joys of underemployment, which affords such luxuries as more than just occasional blips and flights of fancy.

This often leads to late (but spectacular!) dinners and desserts using her excellent recipes and tips, gleaned from various sources and fine tuned in her New York kitchen.  I discovered her a little over a year ago, thanks to a friend of a friend who made the most decadent chocolate cake I have ever eaten for a going away party in Bend, Oregon (my future home. Shhhhh… some day!). Note: I substituted honey for corn syrup in this most wonderful cake, as I would rather not use the latter. Golden syrup works too, so I hear, in any recipe calling for corn syrup. If you can find it. It doesn’t seem to be available in Boonville, alas. Brown Rice Syrup too, for a slightly less sweet version. I’ll try that next time. Less sugar would not take away from the experience of this cake’s frosting, I know this much. I also recommend making this cake in cupcake form. It’s incredible, but quite rich, and cupcakes are more manageable than thin, floppy slices of this massive layer cake.

Needless to say, I am looking forward to the release of the Smitten Kitchen Cookbook some time toward the end of this year. It will join the ranks among my other cooking Bibles The Joy of Cooking (Old Testament), Mastering the Art of French Cooking (New Testament), and my Book of Mormon aka Epicurious, the other amazing cooking website that is my frequent go-to.

Did you enjoy the subtle blaspheme? Me too, almost always. That’s enough for now.

Leave a Reply

