Top 5 Regrets of the Dying

“When you are on your deathbed, what others think of you is a long way from your mind. How wonderful to be able to let go and smile again, long before you are dying.”

This reminds me of a foundation of Buddhist thought, which is that all of us are dying every day, and all of life is a preparation for death, so this is a continual reminder to do those things which you/I/we hesitate to do, for fear of judgment, failure or disappointing the expectations of someone else.

I’m finding myself in need of a little go-get-’em encouragement, since I’m embarking upon the dreaded job search again. It’s only dreaded when you have to do it. Which I do right now. I guess I do it casually all the time, like some kind of put-me-elsewhere idle hobby I have, which I indulge when I’m feeling bored by my current job. So, I need inspiration or a confidence boost where I can find it. And this was a good one, either way.

So, consider this quote I also happen to like:

“Anything scares me, anything scares anyone but really after all considering how dangerous everything is nothing is really very frightening” – Gertrude Stein, Everybody’s Autobiography

One thought on “Top 5 Regrets of the Dying

Leave a Reply

